Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This guide outlines the process of creating and maintaining website users in the CMS.

While B2C users generally self-register on the website, B2B users are often set up by the eCommerce Team (or they may partially self-register and await approval).



Step-by-step guides


Creating a new user 

  1. In the CMS, navigate to Users → Website Users

  2. Click 'Add New User'. 


  3. Enter User Details as follows: 

    FieldDescription
    Email Address (or Login Id)The user's Login ID, usually their email address.
    Send New User Created Email

    Tick this option to send a welcome email to the new user, which also contains a link for them to reset their password.

    Note - this option will ONLY appear if the password entry mode is set to 'Send Password Reset Email' in SettingsFeature SettingsUser Accounts.

    First NameThe user's first name.
    SurnameThe user's last name.
    Contact PhoneThe user's contact phone number.
    Initial RoleThe user's initial role upon login. Select from the options in the dropdown list.
    Assign Multiple RolesClick to add alternate roles for the user. A 'Roles' section will expand, allowing you to click 'Assign New Role' and select the alternate via dropdown. Repeat as needed.
    Default Customer AccountThe Customer Code the user will default to.
    Disable User AccountTick this option to deactivate (but not delete) the user. If a user account is disabled, the user will be unable to login to the site.
    Account AdministratorTick this option to grant the user access to User Maintenance (if present on the menu). This will allow the user to create other users, assigning roles and customer codes that they have access to themselves.
    Change Password

    Enter the user's password.

    Note - the two Change Password fields will ONLY appear if the password entry mode is set to 'Enter Password' in Settings Feature Management User Accounts.

    Confirm Change PasswordRe-enter the user's password to confirm.



  4. Click 'Save & Exit'. 


Adding multiple accounts to a B2B user

  1. In the CMS, navigate to UsersWebsite Users.

  2. Search for and edit the required user. 

  3. Click 'Add New Account'. 



  4. Enter Customer Details as follows: 

    FieldDescription
    Customer CodeThe additional account the user will have access to.
    Order LimitThe maximum order value this user can submit on this account (provided their requisition limit is of equal or higher value).
    Requisition LimitThe maximum order value this user can request for approval on this account.
    Approval LimitThe maximum order value this user can approve on this account.
    Delete?Check this box to remove the account from this user.

Adding multiple accounts to a user

  1. In the CMS, navigate to Users → Website Users

  2. Search for and edit the required user. 

  3. If the user currently has just one role, you'll see an 'Assign Multiple Roles' button - click that.  


  4. If they have multiple roles already, go to the Roles section and click 'Assign New Role'.


  5. Select the required role from the dropdown and click Save & Exit.


Approving a B2B user

In part-registration scenarios, a B2B user applies for a login via the website's 'Apply for Access' form. The eCommerce Team then reviews and approves the application.
This process of B2B partial registration is also sometimes referred to as 'Auto Part Registration'.

  1. In the CMS, navigate to Users → Website Users

  2. Search for the user you wish to approve, either by name, email address, or customer code.

  3. You'll notice an 'Approve User' button next to the Edit and Delete options for the user. 


  4. To approve the user without reviewing details, click 'Approve User'. This will approve the user and trigger the welcome email to be sent. 

  5. To review the user's details before approving, click 'Edit'. 

  6. The user details page will load - check and correct user information as required. 
     

  7. Assign additional roles and customer accounts if required. 

  8. When you are ready to approve the user, click 'Save & Approve'. This will approve the user and trigger the welcome email to be sent. 


Resetting a user's password

The process of resetting a user's password depends on the mode in use on your site. You can check by navigating to Settings → Feature Management, and Configure the User Accounts feature. 

For mode 'Send Password Reset Email': 

  1. Navigate to Users → Website Users

  2. Search for the required user and click 'Edit'. 

  3. Under 'Options', select 'Reset Password'. 
     

  4. A dialogue will open in your browser, asking you to confirm the request. Click 'OK'.


  5. A confirmation message will be displayed on the User Details page, advising that a password reset email has been sent. 


For mode 'Enter Password': 

  1. Navigate to Users → Website Users

  2. Search for the required user and click 'Edit'. 

  3. Enter a new password in the 'Change Password' field. 

  4. Re-enter the password in the 'Confirm Change Password' field. 
     
  5. Click 'Save' or 'Save & Exit'. 


Deleting a user's account

An administrator can remove a user's account in the CMS. The system will check if the user has active orders.

1.  Navigate to Users → Website Users.

2.  Search for the user and click Delete.

3.  The system will ask you to confirm your deletion request. Click OK.

4.  If the user has active orders, then the system will display an error. You will not be able to delete that user until the active orders have been dealt with.

5.  If the user has no active orders, then the system will remove the user's account.

6.  That user will no longer display in searches; the user will not receive an Account Deleted email.



  • No labels